Twitter Icon Envelope icon

Webinar: Mining Tax Policy Responses to COVID-19

Webinar: Mining Tax Policy Responses to COVID-19

Event Details

Date:

April 16, 2020

Resources:

Join IGF and the African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF) for a webinar exploring mining tax policy responses to the COVID-19 health crisis. The one-hour webinar will take place on Thursday, April 16, at 9:00 a.m. (Ottawa) / 2:00 p.m. (London) / 3:00 p.m. (Switzerland).

As COVID-19 spreads, governments are responding with drastic measures to combat the pandemic’s health and economic impacts.

In the mining industry, the virus has harmed workers, disrupted supply chains, and halted operations in many nations. The crisis presents commodity-specific risks to supply and/or demand, which is reflected in ongoing price volatility throughout the sector. Mining companies, under pressure to balance worker safety with business imperatives, may seek supportive tax relief.

There is a risk that countries dealing with this unprecedented crisis may adopt unnecessary or poorly designed tax policies that cut vital government revenues while providing minimal benefits.

Trust between government and citizens is especially critical during this period. To this end, tax measures should be transparent, based on clear policy objectives, clearly prescribed in law, and subject to monitoring and review.

This webinar will provide guidance on which tax measures may be appropriate in this context and outlines specific policies to avoid.